David France


Wiki source

Conceived by Dr France after consultation with baseball's counterpart in Cooperstown, New York, it pays tribute to the men who have contributed to Everton's history. In 1996 he recruited an independent panel of players, journalists, shareholders and season-ticket holders to painstakingly assess the qualifications of the 800 or so candidates and select the initial 75 members. Subsequent additions have been elected by Everton supporters via postal and internet ballots. The Hall of Fame inductions were celebrated passionately in 1998 and every subsequent year at Liverpool's Adelphi Hotel. Known locally as the "Nuremberg Rallies of Football", never before had any club's supporters interacted intimately with heroes who had won the World Cup, European silverware, FA Cups and League titles. The 2009 inductions of Duncan Ferguson and Bill Kenwright brought the total to 126 members. The 2017 additions of John Bailey, Kevin Campbell, Nigel Martyn, Ian Snodin and Pat van den Hauwe increased the membership to 131.